Everything Tastes Better Homemade

by emmahauer

I cannot believe it is already February! January seemed to come and go before I could even adjust to the new year. With that being said I have finally gotten back into the swing of things again in Boston, that includes cooking. Like many people I fall into ruts with recipes I make, I have my go tos that are great but like all things they get old. So I decided it was time to do some money saving and branching out. Through one of my favorite blogs, Cupcakes and Cashmere I found a link for homemade bagels. I had never attempted bagels before but decided to give it a try and was pleasantly surprised that it was easy and delicious! For anyone who loves bagels as much as myself, this is not only a great money saver, costing me $20 at most, but its fun and easy. Not to mention, the ingredients will last a pretty long time so you can get a few recipes out of it. Below are the ingredients needed and a summarized version of the recipe, again, click here for the original.

New York Styled Bagels:

Ingredients:

2 teaspoons of active dry yeast
1 ½ tablespoons of granulated sugar
1 ¼ cups of warm water (you may need ± ¼ cup more, I know I did)
3 ½ cups (500g) of bread flour or high gluten flour(will need extra for kneading)
1 ½ teaspoons of salt

Toppings:

Poppy seeds, sesame seeds, minced garlic, minced onion, salt

1. Combine sugar and yeast in 1/2 cup warm water, do not stir, let it sit for five minutes. Then stir until dissolved.

2. Mix flour and salt in a large bowl and make a well in the middle for the yeast mixture.

3. Pour half of the remaining warm water into the well and begin mixing with your hands. Continue to add the rest of the water until dough is moist and firm, add the water in slowly.

4. On a floured countertop (use the bread flour still) kneed the dough for 10 minutes working in as much flour as your can until dough is firm.

I put my boyrfriend to work

5. Lightly brush a large bowl with oil to coat dough. Cover the bowl with a damp dish towel and let the dough rise at room temperature for an hour. The dough will be much larger after then. Punch it down after an hour briefly and let it sit another 10 minutes.

6. Divide the dough into 8 pieces. On a hard surface roll the dough into balls until it is a firm ball.

7. Coat a finger in flour and press into the middle of a ball to form the ring shape. Stretch the ring to about a 1/3 of the diameter (do not be alarmed when the hole shrinks throughout the process). Repeat for the 7 other dough balls and place on a lightly oiled cookie sheet.

8. Cover the dough with a damp dish cloth and let rest for 10 minutes. Preheat oven to 425 F.

9. Bring a large pot of water to a boil and reduce the heat to a slow roll. Place however many bagels you are comfortable with into the pot with a slotted spoon. The bagels will quickly rise to the top of the water. When they rise time them for 1-2 minutes on each side, I prefer two minutes for a chewier inside.

 

10. To add toppings (optional), create an egg wash using 1 egg and a little water. Brush the wash over one or two sides then add the toppings, the wash makes sure they stick in the oven.

11. On a lightly oiled baking sheet, bake the bagels in the oven for 20 minutes or until gold brown.

12. Cool on a wire rack or dig in!

They were delicious!!!!

 

 

Hope this recipe is useful to some of you, its great on a snowy day! Enjoy!

 

