New Hampshire, a Hidden Gem

by emmahauer

I enjoyed a wonderful three days up in the White Mountains of New Hampshire last week. While, I’ve become a frequent guest there, this was the first time I felt homesick when I left, it really is one of the most beautiful places in New England. I have the pleasure of staying right on Squam Lake, near Plymouth with my boyfriend and his family. Now, waking up and seeing a lake is beautiful enough but his backyard is the White Mountains, and for those who love all outdoors activities that is a place to go. I got enjoy a couple of relaxing days and really unwind before the craze of school picks up.

The first noteworthy activity I did was go to Concord (a wonderful little city for those who dwell in urban environments), and ate at The Barley House. This restaurant is a must! The food is delicious and the environment is welcoming! They have some nice beers on the bar list, including some from local New Hampshire breweries that all sounded delectable. However, I opted for the Hot Cider, I’m a sucker for it on a cold day! For lunch I had the Chicken Sandwich with had grilled ranch dressing, monterey jack, lettuce, and bacon. Needless-to-say it was fantastic, and very filling. Their burgers are also amazing, a nice selection, but be warned they are large and messy but completely worth it!

Photo credit to The Barley House home page

After lunch, we were off to Red River Theatre to see Argo. It was so good, I completely understand why it won so many awards. Ben Affleck was not only a fantastic actor but the director, he took on a challenge to recreate the events in Iran and he certainly accomplished it. While I knew what the outcome was going to be, I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. It was one of the most well done films I have seen in a very long time.

Now, a winter visit in New Hampshire would not be complete without a snow storm and an incredible powder day snowboarding. I was not let down at all. We woke up to a winter wonderland last Wednesday and decided to take our freshly waxed skis and snowboard to the mountain for some fun. We went north about an hour to Bretton Woods to enjoy their 2-for-1 Wednesday special – every Wednesday you get half price! We drove through some serious snow which unfortunately took away from the beautiful views at Franconia Notch (my favorite part of driving in the White Mountains), but was completely worth it! The conditions were perfect, fresh powder that continued all day and minimal ice. This was my first time at Bretton Woods and I was impressed, it’s very wide with a lot of terrain to ride, although I do wish it was a little more vertical I still fully enjoyed myself. Their terrain was enjoyable to ride, fun and the trails were long enough to really enjoy and completely exhaust you. On a clear day I hear the views are amazing as well!

Driving through the snowy Notch

A barely there view through the snow from the lift.

