A Perfect Sunday

by emmahauer

There was no better way to spend a gloomy Sunday than to go see a fabulous show with my mother. For Christmas my mom got me tickets to see the world preview of the newest Momix show at the Warner Theater. For anyone who does not know what this is…you are missing out! It reminded me of Cirque du Soleil, except with dance. We saw the show Alchemia, created by the amazing Moses Pendleton, who coincidentally is an acquaintance of my mother. 

While I was definitely more in love with the second act of the show, the first act was beautiful with a focus on dance and fire. The second act however, focused on gold and was where all the magic happened. They are an illusionist dance company, and are mind blowing, I am still trying to figure out how they did it. My favorite part of the whole show was the start of the second act. Now, I’ll do my best to describe it but you will have to forgive me for doing it no justice. It opened with a projected space background that was breath taking, then your attention is directed to the ground where the dancers are curled up. They were wearing costumes under black lighting that showed what almost looked like viens on the body. As the music picked up they appeared to be floating off the ground doing different dance moves. While I’m not painting this picture well at all, I have no words to describe it. Once a video is published by the company I will post a clip.

To see how amazing they are go here for a video of their Botanica show.

Image

The Warner Theater

 

Aside from an amazing show, I also enjoyed some martinis and the Golden Globes with my mom once we were home. Tina Fey and Amy Poehler were so funny throughout the whole evening, which was much needed considering last years show was not great. They definitely made up for it this year though. My favorite parts were the opening and when Will and Kristen presented, I could not stop laughing! But overall, great show, wonderful winners and nominees were chosen in such a great year of films. Personally, I am so glad that Adele won for her song “Skyfall,” she’s so talented, and of course Daniel Day Lewis for his performance in Lincoln. Though every time they showed Mr. Lewis I could not help but think of some of the stories my cousin told me about him on set. (My cousin Justin worked on Lincoln as Production Coordinator).

Well, I think its safe to say that my Sunday was pretty perfect. I’m off to catch a little sleep before making an adventure up north to New Hampshire to visit my boyfriend and do some serious snowboarding and winter hiking!

Until next time.

